An update of the title narrated by Cora Bissett.

Again the audio has been edited and reformatted and added to images.
The resulting audio/visual video is available here from the on-line shop to download and/or are embedded into our FREE mobile App. Discover Scotland.

This was the final title in our first series to cover Scotland in 2008 and is now the last title completing the second series on the country in 2014.
All our guides are sponsored by quality local businesses en-route - which are detailed below:-


Wanlockhead is Scotland’s highest village at over 1500ft above sea level up high in the Lowther Hills.
This settlement grew up around lead and Gold mining, and features Europe’s second oldest subscription library dating from 1756, with over 3000 rare books.
The Gold panned locally was used to create the Scottish Regalia; so pure is this rare
Scottish Gold it is amongst the purest in the world.
Kids can pan for gold themselves at the Museum of Scottish Lead Mining; they can also enter a real mine, and experience the village life of the miners in a superb reconstruction.
Three hundred years of rural industrial history is showcased in this fascinating museum.

Sanquhar is a small burgh on the banks of the river Nith, known for its links with two declarations by Covenanters, the first against Charles 2nd and another against James 7th.
A royal burgh since 1484 under the protection of the castle, seat of the Crichton family;-
the Admirable Crichton was born nearby, he was a 16th century polymath genius who was killed in a brawl in Mantua at the age of just 22.
Sanquhar castle then passed to the first duke of Queensberry in 1639, who built Drumlanrig, but spent only one night in it preferring Sanquhar.

Newark Farm offers three accommodation options - bed and breakfast, self catering and a certified caravan location
A traditional family run working beef and sheep farm with magnificent views of the River Nith Valley. Salmon and trout fishing can be arranged on the Upper Nithsdale beat of the river as the farm is situated in the middle of that beat.
Bed & Breakfast offered in characteristic spacious centrally heated en suite rooms furnished to a very high standard with TV and tea making facilities.
Free WiFi is available and evening meal by request. To ensure visitors are well looked after, a packed lunch is included in the price.
A mobile home on the farm can sleep 4-6 and has gas central heating and double glazing, with towels and linen are all included and enjoys it own garden with furniture.
Newark Farm also has a Caravan Club awarded certificated location for tourers.
The farmhouse sits a mere stone's throw away from the site of a 13th century monastery, a papal seal clearly marked 1223 was found there in recent years by a visitor with a metal detector. The seal is now housed in the local museum.
A medieval stone carving, the Florian Cross dated 600 AD, was found also on the site of the monastery when the field was being ploughed. Further down the same field is the site of an old hospital and it is believed that the monks cared for lepers there.

One of the main aims of A’ The Airts is to showcase local talent and a small retail outlet sells a wide range of crafts and artwork by around ninety local people, mainly from Upper Nithsdale.
Books by local poets and authors and CDs of songs and music by local musicians are also available, as well as delicious, locally produced preserves, honey and chutneys. They also stock a wide range of very reasonably priced hand-crafted greetings cards to suit all tastes.
A fifty-seat theatre offers a range of events and doubles as a gallery with a rolling exhibition of paintings and other artwork by local artists.
Two craft rooms, for both wet and dry crafts, include a small electric kiln – with a full programme of arts and crafts groups and classes.
Café @ A’ the Airts is run independently and specialises in great coffee and high-quality, locally produced and organic food. It also has a small but pleasant outdoor seating area which is open during the Summer months.

Today accommodation at Sanquhar can be enjoyed at the Blackaddie House Hotel, set in two acres of pretty gardens on the banks of the Nith and dating back to the 16th century, formerly the manse to St Brides.
It is now under the new ownership of Ian and Jane McAndrew. Ian was the youngest English chef to be awarded Michelin star status and has been winning accolades ever since. He has even written three cookery books. The hotel also offers nine comfortable en-suite bedrooms alongside three self-catering cottages.


Continue on to Thornhill, a short distance before the village is Drumlanrig castle ; the Dumfrieshire home of the Duke of Buccleuch and Queensberry and consists of the Castle, Gardens, Country Park and 100,000 acre estate.
With woodland and wildlife walks and the Tree Trail including a number of champion trees such as the countries largest Sycamore and the oldest Douglas Fir.
The castle is open to the public with its gift shop and traditional tearoom.
Take a gentle stroll around the policies and see the Victorian heather huts, gardens and plant centre, as well as the stable-yard craft studios and working blacksmith.

The Disc Golf Course is the latest feature, to keep the kids amused as well as the Adventure Playground along with Mountain Biking, Cycling and even the Cycle Museum. It was a few miles away at the smiddy at Keir Mill, where Kilpatrick McMillan created the world’s first bicycle.
A number of Ranger led activities take place throughout the year and Land-Rover tours take in the more remote parts of the estate.
The castle is a unique example of late 17th century renaissance architecture, built by
Robert Mylne, the Kings master mason. on the site of an older stronghold of the Douglases.
The estate also own the award winning range of Buccleuch Foods and organise the
Drumlanrig Farmers’ market. It also lets shooting and fishing and some holiday cottages
and hold regular events and activities throughout the year.
Drumlanrig estate is part of Buccleuch Estates, these days is the largest privately owned landholding in Europe totalling some 277,000 acres.

Leave Thornhill via the Dalveen Pass a wonderful mountain pass through rounded the moor-land hills of the southern uplands to Crawford, then head south on to Moffat.
Whilst the motorway has created a fast alternative it is still possible to follow the old road in what must be one of the least used routes in the country running parallel with the railway and motorway much of the time.


Moffat was chartered as a burgh in 1648. It grew to become a fashionable Spa Town with the bath house built in 1829 now the Town Hall and the three hundred bed-roomed Hydro hotel built in 1878, which was destroyed by fire in 1921.
The wide Main Street is the centrepiece of this genteel borders town,
which is home to the countries narrowest street; Syme Street and even the shortest; Chapel Street.

On High Street is located the narrowest hotel in the UK – The Famous Star Hotel.
Only twenty feet wide and featured in the Guinness book of records. It has been owned and managed by the same family for over twenty years and offers home-cooked meals in the two bars that also have real ale on tap and a large selection of malts.
The Famous Star Hotel offers eight recently refurbished en-suite rooms.

At the head of High Street is the Stag Hotel, fully refurbished a few years ago.
The Stag has a great bar with very friendly staff offering a first class range of beers and lagers, [the speckled hen is highly recommended], as well as a dining room offering lunch and evening menus featuring good value home-made bar meals.
The Stag also has seven en-suite rooms, and a games room.

The town has a long tradition of accommodating visitors and numerous Bed and Breakfasts offer a very comfortable overnight stay, a first class example is Dell-Marlocated a few yards off the High Street on Beechgrove.
This detached Victorian house overlooks the tennis courts and bowling green, with a separate residents lounge and breakfast room, alongside bedrooms that are all well appointed, bright, spacious and very
comfortably furnished. A real home from home, also benefiting from ample free parking outside.

Burnock Water offers self-catering in a two bedroom, two bathroom riverside property – that sleeps three - fitted and equipped to the highest standards.
This luxury ground floor apartment has a private garden and is a two minute walk to Moffat town centre

The Moffat Ram; a statue also on High street, interestingly has no ears, indeed it is even rumoured the sculptor; William Brodie later committed suicide for this omission.
The road maker John Louden MacAdam died penniless in the town and is buried here.
The commander of the RAF during the Battle of Britain, Air Chief Marshall Lord Hugh Dowding was born here.
Moffat house on High Street, is an Adam mansion built for the Earl of Hopetoun in 1767, it was whilst staying here that James Macpherson launched his ‘Ossian fragments’ in published form, this great work shook the whole of Europe at the time and is still much debated by scholars.
A little north of town on the scenic route to our capital city is the ‘Devil’s Beeftub’ a hollow carved by a glacier at the head of the valley, which was much used by cattle rievers of old.

Another natural phenomena is the ‘Grey Mares tail’ a waterfall pouring over the lip of a hanging valley and the fifth highest in the country. From here you can walk to Loch
Skeen, Britain’s rarest fish the ‘Vendace’ has been re-introduced here from the Lake
District, a path continues up to the summit of highest hill in the southern uplands - White Coomb.


Lockerbie was an important agricultural centre with lamb sales held since 1680 at Lamb Hill.
A great many of the local landowners were connected to the trade with China and the Jardine- Matheson Company.
This brought wealth into Lockerbie and the village grew into a town with its charter dating from 1863.
The town is built from red Permian sandstone, from a local quarry famed for its reptile footprints.
Thomas Carlyle, the Victorian influential thinker was born in a humble cottage at nearby Ecclefechan.
However, Lockerbie is mostly known as result of the air disaster of 1988; a matter of great sadness and still subject to on-going legal debate.

Dryfesdale Lodge Visitors’ Centre, formerly a cemetery worker’s cottage, was opened on 25 October 2003 after extensive renovation work funded by the Lockerbie Trust and is maintained with grant assistance from Dumfries & Galloway Council and visitors’ donations.
The Trust’s vision is that the Visitors’ Centre should be a living, growing, flexible facility that can respond to the needs of visitors and the community.
There are three rooms in the Visitors’ Centre;-
Dryfesdale Room
A place of quiet contemplation, where visitors can peruse ‘On Eagles’ Wings’, which records the names and personal information of the victims of the air disaster of 21st December 1988. A bomb exploded on board Pan Am Flight 103, over Lockerbie, killing all 259 passengers and crew, together with 11 people on the ground. The 20th Anniversary Commemorative Quilt is on permanent display.
History Room
A series of wall-mounted tableaux, detailing the rich history of Lockerbie and surrounding area – from prehistoric times to the present day. Of particular interest is information about the Roman occupation of this Border region of Scotland.
Exhibition Room
Of great interest are a number of temporary exhibitions of local arts and crafts, together with information about the many places of interest for guests to visit during their stay in the Lockerbie area.


A mountain road leads up to Eskdalemuir and a most unusual find here in
the Southern Uplands; Samye Ling, a Tibetan Buddist Temple, with peace garden and tearoom.
Langholm is only about eight miles from the English border at the convergence of three rivers, the Esk, and it tributaries the Ewes and Wauchope.
It is located on the site of the battle of Arkinholme, at which in 1455 the Earl of Douglas defeated the Earl of Angus.
Memorials are erected hereabouts to the following sons of the town.
Thomas Telford; who was born in 1757 and rose to become the greatest civil engineer of his day is buried in Westminster Abbey.
A cairn was erected in 2007 near his place of birth at Glendinning.
Although surprisingly he was never knighted. Unlike the four sons of the local minister, the Malcolm brothers, who all received knighthoods, one of them; Sir Putney was the governor of St Helena when Napoleon was prisoner there.
They became known collectively as the Knights of Eskdale. The tall obelisk at the top of Whita Hill remembers them.
Another famous local was G.M. Grieve; better known as Hugh MacDiarmid the poet and founder of the S.N.P.
A gigantic open book also on a hill above town was built in his
The common riding on the last Friday of July started in 1816 prior to which it was on foot and originally dated from 1759.
Leave town and head south passing Gilnockie Tower a 16th century five storey tower house and clan Armstrong stronghold and a little further on is Scots Dyke two miles from Canonbie, a 16th century trench to mark the English – Scottish border at the time of the ‘debatable lands’.

Two self-catering cottages on a working hill farm – seven miles from Langholm
Georgefield Cottage is a tastefully restored self-catering cottage sleeping up to six - with everything on the ground floor for easy access. The cottage is perfect for a large family with children or a group of friends.
The three, tastefully decorated, bedrooms are comfortably furnished and all bed-linen is included at no extra charge as is a basket of logs and some coal.
Whilst Copper Beech Cottage is a recently restored barn conversion that also sleeps up to six people. This cottage is also all on the ground floor and provides easy access for the disabled. One of the main features is a very large wet-room style shower offering easy access to those with mobility difficulties. The lounge has a feature sandstone fireplace with open fire. Again all bed linen is included as is a basket of logs and some coal.


Since 1754 when Lord Hardwicke’s act abolished irregular marriages in England, Gretna has witnessed many thousands of weddings of runaway couples from south of the border, this romance continues with nearly a thousand marriages a year in present times.
The Blacksmiths anvil is the iconic symbol of this historic practice, as a simple declaration could be made in front of a witness, with the smiddy the most popular venue.
Another feature was the age of consent being just sixteen. The law changed in 1856 requiring a residential qualification period of 21 days. Another change in the law in 1940 required a minister to be present.

Situated only 500 yards from the famous Gretna marriage rooms, Surrone House is a beautifully maintained, quiet, spacious Bed & Breakfast - all the rooms are non-smoking, comfortably furnished and provided with radio, flat screen television with free-view, en-suite bathrooms and full central heating.
Free Wi-fi is also available throughout
With an A la Carte menu and an extensive wine list, the restaurant / dining room makes an ideal place for dinner with wherever possible locally sourced ingredients .

The Old Blacksmith’s Shop Centre is famous and steeped in this history.
It includes an award winning multi lingual exhibition, the Coach Museum, featuring the four in-hand state carriage used by King William 1V as well as many other coaches. The Blacksmith’s Courtyard and Sculpture garden are surrounded by an array of shops where you can find an enviable collection of Scottish gifts, clothing and foods. The Whisky House has a tasting bar and many rare malts on offer. The Food-hall offers snacks and full meals all with a Scottish Emphasis and regular cookery demonstrations.
All this is owned and managed by the Gretna Green Group Ltd a local independent family business established in 1886.

A cottage next to the kirk is where Bonnie Prince Charlie spent a night on his return from his failed Jacobite campaign into England.
The Clochmaben stone on the shores of the nearby Solway Firth stands some 7ft High and weighs some ten tons and witnessed a meeting of the Scots and English to agree a truce in 1398, whilst the battle of Solway Moss saw the Scots defeated in 1542.

The Great War saw many thousands of munitions workers housed here and the rapid expansion of Gretna. This was no haphazard affair but built in the ‘Garden City’ principle and employed the minds of the best architects of the day.
A fascinating exhibition, ‘The Devil’s Porridge’ at nearby Eastriggs tells the secret story of the greatest munitions factory on earth.
In 1915, Britain was losing the Great War through lack of ammunition, until 30,000
women and men came here from all over the world to work in this massive war factory, whose buildings stretched more than nine miles located here on the Solway. It had some 125 miles of railway track, with 34 engines. It even had its own power station and water treatment plant.
‘Devils Porridge’ was the explosive paste of nitro-glycerine and nitro-cotton which these workers fashioned when dry, into the Cordite that was put into shells and bullets.
It was so-named by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle;- the well known novelist and creator of Sherlock Holmes who visited in 1916. This factory produced more Cordite than all the other factories in Britain put together.


Annan was originally a seat of the De Bruce family, the motte and bailey lay beside the river at the head of the tidal water. The seat moved to Lochmaben, then Annan became a Douglas burgh in a charter dating 1538.
The explorer of West Africa, Clapperton and great preacher Edward Irving were boyhood neighbours here and Thomas Carlyle taught in Annan Academy.
It was the home of Dr Blacklock, a friend of Robert Burns. It was near here in 1796 that Burns when very ill bathed in the Brow Well, a rock-cut well close to the sea and famed for its mineral properties, but he died three days later.

Dumbretton Farm Cottages are a collection of three self catering holiday properties nestled within a 400 acre dairy and beef farm.
Each of the cottages is tastefully decorated and well furnished throughout and command beautiful countryside views towards Cumbria.
They can be booked individually or together to accommodate up to 16 guests.
Each of the cottages: The Cottage, The Barn and The Loft – is tastefully decorated and well furnished.
They all enjoy a shared games room equipped with pool table, football table, table tennis and dart board.
As well as a play area with picnic tables and equipped with lots of activities for children. Play equipment is displayed in the adjoining garden for children to enjoy.

Visit Caerlaverock Wetland Centre and experience a day out like no other. There really is something for everyone - owned and managed by the Wildfowl & Wetlands Trust (WWT) - a conservation charity that saves wetlands.
Here on the Solway Firth marshes they provide protection for more than 30,000 overwintering barnacle geese, whilst whooper swans come in close to feed and osprey nest nearby in summer.
In 2004 a colony of rare tadpole shrimps, which date back over 200 million years, was found at Caerlaverock. This is only the second colony in the UK, the only other being in the New Forest in Hampshire.The shrimp is an endangered species that may be the oldest living animal species on earth. You can see one for yourself when you visit Caerlaverock in the visitor centre's aquarium.
The warm and comfortable farmhouse at Eastpark is situated at the very heart of the reserve and commands superb views from its own observation tower across this and the adjacent National Nature Reserve. This is also a great place to see the badgers that come up to the farmhouse every evening.The Farmhouse is let on a room basis for the winter months but reverts to whole house lets only for the summer months.

A short distance on is Caelaverock castle by Glencaple, this is one of Scotland’s most
unusual castles, a medieval moated fortress. Unique in Britain with its odd triangular
moated design, with massive and menacing rounded towers in red sandstone and yet
nobody knows who built it. Of late 13th century design, it was taken by King Edward 1st in 1300 and regained by the Scots in 1312 only to suffer under further conflicts. A 17th century range was added by the Lords Maxwell.


The restored Control Tower of the former WWII airfield is the centrepiece of the Museum and is now a listed building.
The Museum is run by volunteers and houses a large and ever expanding aircraft collection, aero engines and a very impressive display of artefacts and personal histories relating to aviation, past and present. Both civil and military are represented.
There is also a small, but ever expanding collection of memorabilia honouring airborne forces.

Dumfries has featured often in the pages of Scottish history.
The Twelve Apostles; the largest stone circle on the Scottish mainland is at Newbridge a couple of miles to the north.
Created a Royal burgh by William the Lion in 1186, it was here that Robert the Bruce in 1306 stabbed the Red Colyn, a representative of the English King Edward, at the altar of Greyfriars monastery. This led to him to declare his intentions to both the English and Scottish courts and in time led to his ultimate victory at Bannockburn.
Bonnie Prince Charlie made the County Hotel his headquarters when he held the town for ransom for three days and left with £2000 and 1000 pairs of shoes.
Robert Burns is buried in a mausoleum in St Michaels churchyard. The house in which he died is now a museum.
Today Dumfries is a busy commercial centre and the largest conurbation in the south west of Scotland by far.

Tam O Shanter Inn dated back to 1630 and was originally a coaching Inn, these days in owned by Broughton Ales and is a great place to enjoy this local ale.

The Douglas Arms, better known as ‘the Dougie’ is another owned by Broughton Ales and has the Ale on tap.

Kings is an independent coffee shop serving speciality coffee and teas in a relaxed atmosphere Using directly and fairly traded coffee from the best farms in the world.
Offering breakfast and lunch menus.
Kings also stock a great range of carefully selected books (novels, biographies, lifestyle, reference etc.), Bibles, worship resources, Church of Scotland materials, Sunday school resources and much more.
They also stock a range of cards as well as CDs and music books for a range of tastes.

T B Watson Ltd. – specialist Wine and Spirit Merchant - has been established for over 100 years and stocks over 800 whiskies, plus other spirits and wines as well as crystal and some great gift ideas.
The company also personalise labels for malt whisky, vodka, champagne, and wine along with miniatures for special occasions - indeed the malt whisky miniatures in particular are popular as wedding favours.
Revised text below:-
Specialising particularly in Malt Whisky, the company has a huge range of Scotch Whisky along with whiskies from all over the world and hosts a Whisky Festival annually in Dumfries on the last day of November.

New Abbey

Marthrown of Mabie features an American style Tipi , a Mongolian Yurt , a Woodland Bunkhouse , Woodland Camping and the famous Iron Age Roundhouse ideal for 'Glamping'
For a slightly different experience how about chilling out in a native American style Tipi. In the Tipi there are 4 mattresses, a wood burning stove, rugs and 4 bean chairs as well as all the cooking and dining equipment you will need.
The centrepiece of the Yurt is a very effective wood burning stove which has an oven in which you can rustle up a tasty meal. It has a double sofa bed and two single beds, table and chairs and a range of books and games.
Marthrown Woodland Bunkhouse has a total of 26 bed spaces spread over 4 rooms
Whilst tucked away in the forest is the woodland camping area. As part of the site there is an outdoor (but private) hot shower, a dry composting loo and urinal all set in beautiful wooden buildings.
Marthrown Roundhouse - sleeps up to 16 and is only 125 metres over the hill from the bunkhouse (yet it seems like a world away) you come upon a truly awesome sight. Nestled amongst the trees in a clearing is an authentic replica of a Celtic Iron Age Roundhouse.

Head to New Abbey as you enter this pretty village The National
Museum of costume is based at Shambellie House.
Sweetheart Abbey is the romantic sandstone remains of a 13th century Cistercian Abbey founded by the Lady of Galloway in memory of her husband John Balliol, she is buried in the presbytery with her husbands embalmed heart.
New Abbey’s excellent facilities include a craft and gift shop: a beautiful tea shop two hostelries and excellent parking near the Abbey

Admirable Antiques specialise in antiques, fine art and collectables.
They also restore antiques and stock quality reproduction furniture and garden ornaments.
With an enviable reputation for quality, service and integrity they have been featured in the BBC TV series ‘Antiques Road Trip’.
A stunning range of new, solid mahogany, hand-made classic furniture is also available at unbeatable prices. All of the furniture is handcrafted using traditional techniques from mahogany that has been grown through a government plantation program. No two pieces are exactly the same - every piece of furniture is individual, and a study of the detail and fine hand carving invite ownership by the discerning.

On to the Colvend coast, a romantic place, with tiny coastal settlements, set amid the hills with fine cliffs, sandy beaches and far reaching views over the Solway to the mountains of the Lake District.
The old church, nestling below Clifton Crags was given fifteen shillings by King Edward 1st of England when he passed this way in 1300.

Mersehead is a 1000 hectare Nature Reserve acquired by the R.S.P.B. in 1993. It sits on the Solway and was formerly a mixed farm. Today this landscape is managed with
wildlife in mind, it contains many mixed habitats, inter-tidal sand dunes, merse – which means saltmarsh, wet grassland, cover cops and dry grassland.
This is the only place in the country to find the money Spider and Solitary Wasp, as well being home to natterjack toads, otters, badgers and roe deer.
But it’s the birds that are the main attraction here:- up to 14,000 barnacle geese winter on the reserve as do thousands of other wildfowl. There are numerous lapwings, snipe, curlew and waders alongside the smaller farmland birds such as skylarks, finches, buntings, warblers and sparrows.
Seabirds also use this habitat as do birds of prey such as peregrines, merlins, hen harriers and short eared owls.
With all this variety the reserve is a worthwhile visit any time of the year.

Rockcliffe is joined to Kippford by the Jubilee path, through scrub by the sea edge along the shallows of the Urr estuary, the two settlements are four times as far apart by road.
The town of Dalbeattie is the next destination and is the largest settlement hereabouts, at the head of the tidal water of the Urr.
This area was a missionary field of St Constantine, who was sent here in the year 560,with many local church names bearing witness to this.
It was once an important harbour and exporter of Granite, used to build the Liverpool docks, Thames embankment and the Grand harbour of Valletta in Malta. The quarry today only produces granite chips, however the buildings of the town are granite, and as such is more akin to Aberdeenshire than Kirkcudbright-shire.
A bobbing mill survived here for many years, supplying the Lancashire textile mills.
The nearby village of Auchencairn;- the field of the cairn in Gaelic is a very quite and peaceful place; well off the beaten track.
However it was near here at Ringcroft of Stocking, a famous poltergeist haunting of the 1690’s was witnessed, this was reported in great detail at the time by a panel of ministers.
The surrounding hills are certainly cloaked in ancient history with a number of dark-age courtyard forts being identified.

Castle Douglas

Carlingwark Loch was a valuable source of marl, a limey-clay used as fertisliser which brought prosperity to the area.
A forge was recovered from the loch that is thought to have been left by King Edward 1st during one of his forays around 1300.
The original settlement known as Carlingwark, was re-named Castle Douglas in 1792 by Sir William Douglas of Gelston; a wealthy tobacco merchant.
The shore of the loch, adjacent to the town is now a park with boating, golf, bowls and tennis.
Nearby is the Motte of Urr, the largest man-made castle mound in the country and the former 12th century power-base of the De-Berkleys.
Castle Douglas has been an important market centre since the 18th century, supported the rich gently rolling agricultural hinterland.
These days the town is by-passed by the main road; giving it a more relaxed feel and pace as a result.
The three towns of Galloway are marketed as Food [Castle Douglas], Art [Kirkcudbright] and Books [Wigtown].

Douglas House is a 19th century townhouse offering comfortable and stylish en-suite accommodation in four en-suite rooms.
Enjoy an award winning breakfast, residents lounge area and the warmest of welcomes – awarded Tripadvisor certificate of excellence for last three consecutive years.

The gallery and working studio of artist Angela Lawrence - Clience Studio, is located under the Castle Douglas Clocktower. Open all year, Mon – Sat 10am –5pm
This artist is widely exhibited; her watercolours and oils are expressive glimpses of
landscapes that are contemporary and very atmospheric.
Scottish seacapes are a particularly strong theme especially local ones.
Angela’s work can be seen at a number of leading galleries throughout the country,
however it adds another dimension to see the work in progress and meet the artist in

Established in 1991, Castle Douglas Cycles is an independent bike shop recently taken over by Andy and Lynn both keen cyclists themselves.
Retailers of Specialized and Giant bicycles, Castle Douglas Cycles offers a wide variety to suit all types of cyclist, plus a full range of accessories, equipment and clothing. With full workshop facilities offering servicing, repairs and custom builds.
A bike shop catering for all the family, servicing Dumfries and Galloway - home of the fantastic 7stanes mountain bike trails which offer some of the best off road excitement for even the most skilled rider as well as well as plenty of fun for the novice. Dumfries and Galloway has also become popular for road cycling with a large network of quiet scenic roads to explore and supports a number of sportives organised by local groups to take full advantage of beautiful area.

Lochside Apartments are two, family run, self catering apartments.
These apartments are purpose built holiday lets which were only completed in late 2010 and are the only purpose built holiday lets in Castle Douglas.
Built in this location to take full advantage of the stunning views over Carlingwark Loch and out towards the Screel and Bengairn hills as well as all local amenities being within walking distance.
The apartments are set in their own grounds, just at the edge of Lochside Park with their own off street parking.
Each apartment consists of two ground floor bed rooms, bathroom and shower room, whilst on the first floor - an open plan kitchen/dining/living room with floor to ceiling doors leading to a balcony and outside areas to both front and rear.
They can be let separately or together, as one unit.

Another important castle near to hand is Threave. The nearby gardens are a training ground for the gardeners of the National Trust for Scotland.
Whilst the Castle; a fortress on an island of the river Dee, was once owned by Archibald the Grim, Lord of Galloway. Formerly a stronghold of the Black Douglases who fell into conflict with King James 2nd who besieged the castle in 1455.


Dundrennan Abbey some six and a half miles before Kirkcudbright; founded in the 12th century by King David were Mary Queen of Scots spent her last night in Scotland.
King James the 2nd created Kirkcudbright a Royal burgh in 1455 and the annual riding of the marches re-enacts the time when the Kings messenger, known as the pursuivant, carrying the charter, was met by the towns Cornet, who together rode round the boundaries of the burgh.
This is an ancient port, located on the estuary of the river Dee.
The harbour is dominated by Maclellan’s castle built in 1577 using the stone from the ruined monastery by the then provost Sir Thomas Maclellan.
Around this time a famous pirate; Leonard Robertson, who was also burgess of Kirkcudbright, was so prolific in the area that Queen Elizabeth 1st of England even complained to King James the 6th of Scotland. The King set up a commission of the local
lairds, who built the castle, a little ironic perhaps, as they had all benefited greatly from this illegal trade.

The Marks, which dates back to the 16th century, is reputed to be the dower house for McLellan’s Castle in Kirkcudbright, located just four miles down the road.
The farmhouse, with log fires roaring in the Study and Drawing room, is set in a large rambling old world garden the surroundings are tranquil and peaceful, nights are stunningly starlit.
Cars are safely parked on the gravel drive at the front of the house; bikes can be stored in one of the outbuildings.
In the farmhouse they offer Bed and Breakfast, with dinner in the evening if you wish, all good home cooking using our great local produce.
The bedrooms pleasantly situated with views over the garden and Galloway countryside, are all comfortably furnished, including hospitality trays.
The Marks is a working upland farm, with dairy cows milked twice daily with ponies in the paddock.

Kirkland Mill offers self-catering in a newly and lovingly renovated property fitted and equipped to the highest standards. Set in 2 acres of exquisite countryside complete with a private 1/2 acre trout pond .
The Mill sleeps four to six and is nestled behind Cannee Farm, the quietness and seclusion of Kirkland Mill will suit those wishing to relax - yet is only a 10 minute walk to the artist's town of Kirkcudbright.

This picturesque town has been popular with artists for generations, the most famous
being one of the Glasgow Boys E.A.Hornel, who lived at Broughton House, on High
Street, now a National Trust for Scotland property; complete with many of his paintings and a Japanese garden planted by him.

An artist working from her home and studio at Cornerways which is located on Selkirk Road, is Jane B Gibson.
Jane, a full time artist since 1981, is a member of both the Royal Society of Miniature Painters and the Hilliard Society of Miniaturists, the only person in Scotland to be a member of both. She represented our country in the millennium year at the world federation in Tasmania.
Jane not only works in miniature but has numerous landscapes in the ‘Hockin and Roberts’ countryside series, alongside townscapes and seascapes, [the local ‘Night and Day’ series on Kirkcudbright].
She also undertakes portrait commissions on people and pets; particularly dogs. Even her unique ‘Bear Essential’ series is on display, based on teddy bears. All are executed in a range of medium including watercolours, pastels and oils.
Another testimony is Jane’s memorial to the Lockerbie disaster that hangs on Capitol Hill in Washington D.C.

A stunning seventeen bedroom privately owned and managed townhouse hotel in the heart of the pretty harbour town of Kirkcudbright. Surrounded by Scottish history and the local art scene.
It’s perhaps the gentle pace and peaceful atmosphere which perhaps moved Scotland’s national poet Robert Burns to write the famous Selkirk Grace at this very hotel in 1794.
With a choice of two restaurants – The Bistro for casual dining or Artistas for a more formal setting with the style of dining that of a modern gastro pub.
In addition a sheltered garden offers the al fresco option.
Also the Selkirk Arms has a choice of two bars – Lounge and Sports – offering real ales and a wide selection of malts and extensive wine list.
The Selkirk Arms has been refurbished extensively to give a warm, contemporary and authentic feel to each individual bedroom and throughout the public area

The earlier 17th century Tolbooth and many of the other buildings have an air of grandeur about them, no doubt associated with the town’s role as the capital of the Stewartry.
A short distance out of town near the rocky gorge of the Dee is the pretty site of Tongland Abbey, whose most famous Abbot was John Damian Dunbar, the ‘Fenyent freir’.
He attempted to fly, throwing himself off from the battlements of Stirling castle in front of a young King James the 4th. The Abbot remarkably survived and explained his failure on the fact that the wings had been constructed from the feathers of hens, which themselves could not fly!
An earlier Abbot was murdered at the altar here in 1235 by Scottish forces after the Galloway revolt.

Gatehouse of Fleet

Gatehouse of Fleet in peaceful pastel colours was founded in the 1760’s as a mill community. Indeed General Roy’s map of 1759 showed only one house.
Pre-dating this is Cardoness castle; a 15th century tower house and a small 1st century Roman fort was also located near the river.
Robert Burns is said to have composed ‘Scots Wha Ha’e’ on the nearby moors and written the song down in his room at the Murray Arms Hotel.
Another local hostelry with literary connections is the Ship Inn. It was whilst staying here that Dorothy L Sayers wrote the famous novel ‘Five Red Herrimgs’ that is based on the locality.

On high Street is Galloway Lodge, located in the old Tannery that dates from 1787, the building was restored in 1989, and is now home to Galloway Lodge Preserves
This firm established in 1971 by Nigel Hesketh, has grown into one of the most popular and successful producers of high quality marmalade, jams, chutney, jelly and mustard in Scotland. A true family business that is obsessed with the quality of our product and ensuring that each jar that we produce is as good as the last. Only the finest ingredients are used and cooked in small batches using traditional methods - this guarantees a quality product with an authentic taste.
The business also runs the successful coffee shop on the High St in Gatehouse of Fleet featuring a full Menu of soups, sandwiches, Panini’s, burgers, a selection of daily specials and home baking.
In addition to the coffee shop they also have a fully stocked gift shop with a selection of Scottish food, gifts and a hamper service for any occasion.

A fine example of the period is located on High Street is The Mill on the Fleet - a restored 18th Century cotton Mill.
Today it houses a museum, bookshop, gift shop, tourist information centre, licensed café and galleries that feature displays on both natural and human heritage, as well as renewable energy.
The mill also has a riverside terrace, perhaps you may catch a rare glimpse of a kingfisher or dipper at the waters edge, as the Mill is also the local wildlife reporting station.

Fleet Gallery is located across the bridge in Fleet Street, this is a great place to visit if you are looking for that special gift.
The Gallery displays a wide range of work from artists and craft-people from here and elsewhere in Scotland as well as a selection of cards and gifts, all resulting in a unique shopping experience.Parking is available outside.

New Galloway

The Ken Bridge Hotel is a former coaching Inn in a beautiful riverside location on the banks on the River Ken, here at the head of Loch Ken.
This eleven bedroom family run Georgian Hotel, whose owners have connections to the area going back through many generations.
The hotel is noted for the quality of the restaurant and bar meals created using locally sourced fresh produce, indeed, it is unique in Scotland as crayfish can be caught straight from the water, cooked and be on the table in minutes.
The Ken Bridge hotel has fishing rights on the River Ken which is free to all residents as well as its own camping and caravan site.

Loch Ken at nine miles long was created as part of the Hydro Scheme and is today an important leisure resource, with water-sports, course-fishing and bird-watching including the Red Kite Trail.
New Galloway stands high above the North end of the Loch.
Interestingly New Galloway is the smallest of all Scottish Royal burghs.
Its charter of 1633 was a really a transference from nearby Dalry which was intended as the new burgh but Gordon of Kenmure wanted a burgh and market at his gates.
New Galloway is located just north of his seat Kenmore Castle.
The Lords of Galloway held sway over most of the area and Kenmure castle had been visited by Mary Queen of Scots on her fateful journey south.
It was however later destroyed by Cromwell and the ruin we see today is mostly the remains of the re-built castle.
It was an hotel after the war, then sold to a demolition contractor who stripped it of its lead and internal fittings and left it a roofless shell. It is now owned by a descendant of the Gordons of Kenmore.

Located on High Street is the CatStrand. A truly marvellous facility, in this rural heartland that attracts artists, writers and performers from all over the country and even further a-field.
This multi-purpose facility doubling up as a theatre and art gallery, as well as a cinema club, is also the venue for regular classes from computing to dance.
The Glenkens HistoryStop is also based at CatStrand; a great reference point for local history and heritage.
The range and quality of the events and activities held here is impressive by any standards with many leading authors giving readings, Singer songwriters and musicians performing, whilst many well known stand up comics, poets and actors all find time for a gig at The CatStrand.

Galloway Forest Park

From 1922 onwards the forestry commission have managed a huge area of land designated as a Forest Park in 1947 it stands a total of 97,400 hectare; an area some five times the size of Glasgow and visible from space.
Galloway Forest Park is home to much wildlife and Red Kites where re-introduced in 2001. The third release in a country wide scheme. The project has been a success with over twenty breeding pairs in the forest park in 2007.
It is bisected by the Southern Upland Way. A way-marked coast to coast walk of over two hundred miles.
The Queens Way is the route between New Galloway and Newton Stewart.
This ancient pilgrim’s road was used by Mary Queen of Scots and many other monarchs’ as they travelled on to Whithorn.
En –route is the Clatteringshaws Visitor Centre is one of three run by the Forestry Commission Scotland in the area, located on the shores of Chatteringshaws Loch, with a tearoom for light refreshments and a gift shop. The centre houses the wildlife zone- an interactive display featuring a stag, otter, fox and many more examples of the areas wildlife.
A short distance on are the Wild Goat Park and Red Deer Range.
A nearby monument is to Alexander Murray, a self taught shepherd boy who became a professor of language at Edinburgh University.
Near this is a waterfall, called the Grey Mare’s Tail, a name shared with several others in Scotland.

Kirroughtree Visitor Centre lies three miles south east of Newton Stewart with a childrens play area, way-marked walks and cycle routes. Another run by the Forestry Commission Scotland it has a tearoom and shop. The centre is also host to one of the 7 stanes mountain bike trails and has a bike shop on site.

Whilst Glentrool Visitor Centre is a few miles north of Newton Stewart and the final centre run by Forestry Commission Scotland at the gateway to Loch Trool. with waymarked trails and cycle routes, the centre also has a tearoom and shop.
Look out for the Galloway Forest Park annual paper full of ideas and stories about the area. Its called ‘The Galloway Ranger’ and is free.
Glen Trool is famous for Bruce’s Stone. This commemorates his victory over the English at the battle of Glen Trool in March 1307. He beat a superior force by hurling rocks from the heights of Muldonach, whilst a herd of wild goats driven towards the enemy was mistaken for reinforcements and the English Fled.
The so-called Glen Trool hoard was found nearby in 1915 and consisted of a 3000 year old collection of Bronze Age swords, spears and various weapons.

Newton Stewart & Creetown

A gateway between the Galloway Forest Park and the Machars. Newton Stewart has a good range of shops.
Newton Stewart was named after William Stewart the third son of the Earl of Galloway, however it name was briefly changed to Newton Douglas when the land was acquired by Sir William Douglas founder of Castle Douglas.
Burgaly Glen a few miles south east is associated with John Buchan’s novel ‘Thirty-Nine Steps’.
The district has much re-claimed bog along the Cree estuary and many agricultural practices developed here such as the dry stone dyke introduced in the 1690’s and forestry plantations, now such a feature of this landscape, also started here.

A small family run nursery specialising in herbaceous perennials and grasses.
Offering friendly and personal service and always happy to provide advice.
Although the nursery is small, it is continually expanding the range of stock and can always offer a wide range selection of plants suitable for all conditions.
Visitors are welcome to wander around the garden to see mature specimens of many of the plants on sale.
Amongst the perennials - there is always a good selection with a wide choice of flowering favourite and a choice of larger plants for those with space.
The range of grasses includes many larger and unusual cultivars together with a wide variety of choice smaller varieties.

Galloway Smokehouse prides itself on its range of local fresh and smoked fish, game, poultry as well as freshly prepared lobster and crab.
The fresh salmon is caught in the estuary over the road and the kilns are small allowing close monitoring of batches, the raw materials are the best available and even the sawdust is specially selected. [a by-product from a nearby cooperage, where whisky barrels are refurbished, the shavings impregnated with whisky are burnt in the smokers to give a rich strength of taste.]
All foods are cured with salt before smoking and the resulting prize winning smoked foods are a gourmet's delight. After smoking all of the products are vacuum packed to seal in the flavours. In this form they can be kept in the fridge of freezer without any loss of flavour. In fact having a selection of Galloway's finest produce in your freezer is always a food insurance for those emergency gourmet occasions.
In addition the shop also has a selection of locally produced jams and pickles, biscuits, ice cream, chocolate, wild life ornaments and a selection of books on fish and game cookery.
Look around the Smokehouse to see the traditional way of smoking food - raw salt, golden syrup and dark rum are all used and you will be amazed at the flavour. Samples are always available to try.

The Gem Rock is the leading independent museum of its kind in the UK and is renowned worldwide.
Owned and run by the Stephenson family it is regarded as one of the finest private collections of gemstones, crystals, minerals, rocks and fossils in Great Britain. Crystals and minerals are some of natures most outstanding creations and the collection demonstrates this with many fine specimens of world class standard on display.
The Museum is however, more than just a static display, it is a fully interactive experience with lots of things to do as well as to see and you will find any visit fun, relaxing and a thought provoking experience.
The Gem Rock has evolved over 20 years through a continuous policy of improvement and development to provide an experience you'll treasure forever.
On-site the Prospectors Pantry offers snacks and drinks and the Natural Gift Shop some amazing keepsakes.


We now travel into the Machars to Wigtown, which is only home to less than a thousand folk but more than quarter of a million books.
As the National Book town of Scotland it plays host to the annual book festival, itself an established event in Scotland’s cultural calendar.
The Town is home to some twenty or so bookshops;

A good example is the Old Bank Bookshop at 7 South Main Street.
It offers over 5 rooms of quality out-of-print, secondhand and antiquarian books on all subject areas, with one room dedicated to an extensive sheet music collection.
Comfortable seating and wheelchair access. Open 7 days in main season and 6 days in winter.

Wigtown is an ancient burgh and was probably chartered in 1260. The mound of a medieval castle lies on the edge of the salt marshes beside the town.
The county town of Wigtownshire, it has a pleasant medieval layout and a central square.
There are two town crosses one dating from 1748 and a newer one erected to commemorate the battle of Waterloo.
The town overlooks the saltings, marshes and sands of Wigtown Bay this was once a flourishing port until silt blocked the harbour in 1914.
It now hosts the largest natural bay reserve in the country, with Ospreys nesting here, that return every spring after wintering in Africa. There is a camera focused on one nest and a viewing gallery in the County Buildings located at the town’s Main Square.
In 1685 two female convenanters, Margaret McLauchlan and Margaret Wilson were tied to stakes and drowned by the rising tide. A post is said to mark the spot in the bay and a memorial stands on Windyhill, a viewpoint behind the town.
About three miles North West is the Bronze Age Stone Circle of some 19 stones in a ring 60ft across.
To the South – West stands the ruin of Baldoon Castle the setting for Scott’s novel ‘The Bride of Lammermuir’.


Continue south to Whithorn.
St Ninian, Scotland’s first saint, was born and educated under Roman rule in AD397 and built the first ever stone built church here, founded over a century before Iona this is the earliest Christian building in Scotland.
In the Northumbrian period the monastry was a noted cultural centre and in AD 880-90 the Lindisfarne Gospel was washed up on the shore nearby.
Bede wrote of the shrine at Whithorn during this period and made reference to the fact it had been in existence some three centuries before. This early Christian settlement had contact with Gaul; a sophisticated church hierarchy in Europe and beyond.
It imported fine wines and pottery and was a thriving literate community and as such is possibly Scotland’s oldest civilised township.
In the middle ages Whithorn was visited by many thousands of pilgrims. Bruce visited a few months before his death in 1329.
King James 4th was a frequent visitor, once on foot all the way from Edinburgh.
Mary Queen of Scots made the last Royal pilgrimage in 1567, as an act of Parliament in 1581 made this observance illegal.

Visit the Whithorn Story to see the archaeological evidence for this remarkable settlement – there is a Museum of ancient Christian stones, the Priory ruins, and an excellent interpretation of the development of Whithorn throughout its 1600 years.
The Visitor Centre also provides fresh, local food has an audio visual presentation and offers a selection of fresh local food.
Today’s Whithorn has an attractive Georgian streetscape, built over the medieval settlement.

Luce Bay & Mull of Galloway

The wider area hereabouts is known as the Machars; a lush green triangle lying between Wigtown Bay and Luce Bay whose famous sons include the novelist Gavin Maxwell and Alastair Reid an important 19th century economist and father of conservation.
Head towards Glenluce.
The ruins of Glenluce Abbey is nearby Founded by the Earl of Galloway in 12th century, visited by Robert the Bruce, James 4th and Mary Queen of Scots.

A little further on Glenwhan Gardens at Dunragit is a wild garden that has been hewn out of a natural site of great beauty in an outstanding location with far reaching views over Luce Bay to the Mull of Galloway and the Isle of Man.
It was featured on the Beechgrove Garden and Border TV and started in 1979, with two lakes created by damming a boggy area that now stock trout and carp.
The sheltered peaty soil is great for a wide variety of plants from the southern hemisphere that flourish here, as do moisture loving plants and the acid soil is favoured by rhododendrons and azaleas.
Winding paths lead to the enchanted woodland habitat of the resident red squirrels and the surrounding moorland and wetland are all accessible.
Over 120 species of grasses, ferns and wild flowers can be seen.
An extensive plant centre as well as a licensed tearoom is the final feature of Glenwhan.

The Mull of Galloway is the southernmost tip of Scotland, with outstanding views in every direction; Over to Ireland, with the Antrim Hills and mountains of Mourne, to the Isle of Man and the ridge of Mona’s Isle and of course the Lake District and Cumbrian coast of North West England.Also closer to home you look out over Luce Bay to the Machars of Galloway and the Galloway hills.
An R.S.P.B. reserve is located around the Lighthouse, one of the smallest in the hands of this charity with a short circular walk. This is the nesting site for Guilliemots, Shags and Razorbills as well as a few Puffins. The lighthouse was built in 1828 to a Stevenson
Design and by the 1900’s this was joined with a Foghorn powered by a Kelvin diesel
engine which was in use until the 1980’s. The lighthouse was de-manned in 1988 and is now remotely monitored from Edinburgh.
The Gallie Craig coffee house is an award winning clifftop visitor facility, designed with environmental issues as a key factor, built into the contours of the cliff edge and
incorporating glass and natural stone under a turf roof.
So-named after the Gallie Craig; a ragged rock protruding from the sea which the large windows and terrace of the coffee shop overlook.
Offering home-made soups and meals, fresh home-baking, local ice cream and even an excellent range of quality gifts and souvenirs

Portpatrick & the Rhins of Galloway

Exclusive, private and very secluded - Morroch Bay offers two extraordinary self- catering holiday cottages, both south facing with the most extraordinary uninterrupted open views out to sea and surrounded by high cliffs and directly accessible only by four-wheel drive - down the side of cliff - or on foot!
These beach cottages are approximately a quarter of a mile apart with a private water supply. - The four bedroom Morroch Cottage can sleep eight and Southern Croft, which sleeps two-four.
They are available individually or together for exclusive use and are available for weekly lets.
Both houses have been extensively refitted & landscaped and enjoy satellite broadband & Wi-Fi.
On a clear day the Isle of Man can be seen, and at night the lighthouses on the Irish coast complement the stars as the only lights, save those from the croft houses on the seashore.

Head to Portpatrick, this was the shortest crossing to Ireland and is named after St Patrick who strode from Ireland to here.
The harbour was built in 1821 by John Rennie but the ferry route was moved to the safer crossing via Stranraer and as a result the harbour fell into decline and the railway also closed.
Today however this pretty harbour teams with pleasure craft and this busy holiday and fishing resort is a well loved spot.
To the south the romantic ruin of Dunskey Castle sits in its strong position on the headland high above the Craigoch Burn.

The Gardens of Dunskey which include a charming 18th century walled garden, an intriguing maze and interesting woodland gardens with loch views.
There is an established collection of mature shrubs and plants amongst which are some surprises that enjoy this micro climate.
The adjoining Seasons Tearoom with terrace and marvellous murals offers delicious home-made lunches and baking.
There is a small shop and an exotic collection of plants for sale.
Self-catering cottages and fishing on two trout lochs are also available at Dunskey.

Logan is regarded as the country’s most exotic garden. Warmed by the Gulf Stream, southern hemisphere plants flourish in this plantsman’s paradise near Port Logan.
The Potting Shed Bistro is open in the summer it serves tasty lunches, light snacks and delicious home baking using the finest local ingredients.
Whilst the Botanics Shop has a fantastic selection of local crafts, gifts and plants, some of which can be seen growing in the Garden and indeed have been grown at Logan.

Continue north to Corswall Point. Here stands a most unusual hotel, Corsewall lighthouse, which was built by the grandfather of Robert Louis Stevenson.Built in 1815 and A listed, it still beams a warning for ships approaching the mouth of Loch Ryan as it has done for over 180 years.
This working lighthouse has undergone extensive renovations to create a truly unique small luxury hotel and restaurant.
With four luxury suites all complete with every convenience and feature you could imagine, some have conservatories, sitting rooms and all enjoy the most amazing sea-vista. As do the other six en-suite rooms.
Whilst the Corsewall restaurant offers a five course fine dining menu and has been awarded the much coveted AA Red Rosette. This unique Lighthouse Hotel is personally run by the owner.
Set in some twenty acres of spectacular coastline with views to Kintyre, Arran, Ailsa Craig and the coast of Ireland. The Iron Age fort of Dunskirkloch lies here and it’s a haven for sea birds, seals and a wide variety of flora amid the weathered rock-formations.


The natural harbour of Stranraer is only a few miles away and sits at the head of the Sea-Loch, Loch Ryan.
Stranraer even enjoys a fine beach when the tide is out.
Its castle was the headquarters of Graham of Claverhouse, and many poor convenanters lay and perished in the dungeons.
It continued this theme and in the 18th and 19th century served as the town jail.
Near the pier the North West castle, now a hotel, was built in the form of a ship by the artic explorer Sir John Ross. His expedition to find the North West Passage led to the discovery of the magnetic North Pole in 1831.

We leave town and head east the short distance to Castle Kennedy and Gardens, these are regarded as one of the Scotland’s finest gardens.
The inspiration of the 2nd Earl Stair in the 1730’s the gardens are a magical landscape
created on an isthmus between two large natural lochs. They extend to 75 acres of
carefully landscaped terraces and avenues and contain at one end the romantic ruin of the 16th century Castle Kennedy with the 19th century Lochinch Castle, seat of the current Earl and Countess of Stair, at the other end.
Indeed Stair Estates own much of the land hereabouts including a sizeable section of the Southern Upland Way.
Close to the sea and benefiting from the Gulf Stream, the gardens contain many tender and exotic plants, alongside the towering avenues that consist of many magnificent trees planted from seed by the famous plants-man Joseph Hooker and includes a number of National Champion specimens.
The charming tearoom, gift shop and plant centre completes any visit.